Multiplying strawberry plants

A couple months ago, I planted some of the runners that had sprouted from the strawberry plants. Shortly after, I started my long summer pause from the blog, and so I hadn’t yet shared these pictures with you.

Runners are horizontal stems that sprout from strawberry plants, at some points those steams grow like a small plant as you can see in the picture below.

IMG_2372

When planted upon soil, these small plants grow roots and become another strawberry plant.

IMG_2380

IMG_2382

For some weeks, we had this puzzle of strawberry plants, all connected!

IMG_2385Then, a spot in the middle of the connection between the mother plants and the new plants started to get dry and brown and I guessed it was safe to cut the runners and could rearrange the pots.

More runners have been appearing but I haven’t grown all of them because I couldn’t end up with 20 strawberry plants! However, today I have seen one more runner… so maybe I’ll plant one more!

What has me surprised is that the plants keep flowering and producing strawberries but like one every two weeks or so. Which is very funny because I am like “oh nice, a strawberry!” and I just eat it. I have been meaning to look it up, to know until when the plants are supposed to keep producing but I haven’t yet, I’ll be sure to tell you when I find that out 😉

Have a nice start of September!

Jara

PS: Maybe you want to see when I planted them or when we first picked some strawberries!

 

Leave a Reply

