A cheerful microwave

IMG_1684

In our small apartment the kitchen is also the entry way, and… the living room. As I said, it is indeed a small apartment. This makes the decor of the apartment quite challenging. Everything has to be practical, there is not much space, and since is a rental apartment we cannot do major changes to anything. So, I do what I can to make the kitchen look nicer, like the shelf organizers with recycled paper I explained in a previous post.

One thing that I didn’t like on the kitchen is the microwave. It is on a prominent location in the middle of the kitchen (since there is no other place to put it) where is the first thing you see when entering the flat, and at the same time can be seen from the couch. Well.. if you cannot beat them, join them right? Well in this case, what I would say is… if it has to be in such a prominent position… better make it the landmark of the kitchen!

The idea for this project is from a post of A Beautiful Mess I encountered on Pinterest, where Elsie decorated her washer and drier with electrical tape, it was seeing it and thinking: this is it! BTW… I love their site, if you don’t know them you should check it right now! 😉

So, the project is very easy to do. You just need electrical tape (any colour you want that you can find..) and scissors.

I started with the idea of the dotted pattern, but when I finished the door I thought everything with dots would be too much and decided to try the stripes. Plus, putting stripes was so much quicker than cutting the dots!! The best thing about this project is that electrical tape is very easy to peel off, so you can try without fear and if you do not quite like the end result you can make modifications very easily.

IMG_1802
IMG_1687 IMG_1689

I am not very methodical and quite impatient when doing crafts (which means I very often fail at doing them…) so for the stripes I did not make measurements or anything… I just guided myself from sight which is why the stripes are not equally distanced and probably are not exactly parallel to the microwave edges. And as you see the dots aren’t either exactly circular, but I wanted it to look informal and organic 🙂

I hope you like it, I am very happy of the vibe it gives to the kitchen, and that now when entering the apartment I am greeted with such a colourful sight!

Jara

PS: Speaking of the kitchen… you should definitely try these oven baked zuchinni filled with goat cheese.

Credits: Autor and photography Jara Forcadell

Leave a Reply

