Mega update on the balcony

A lot of changes have happened in the balcony since the last update. Of course I have shown some of them like when we planted strawberry plants, tomato plants or the first flower sprouting on the peach tree, but as I compared the pictures I have taken today with the ones I posted in February 14th (more than one month ago I know, it’s been too long!!) I couldn’t believe how much everything has grown, and how much greener the balcony looks.

IMG_1610

IMG_1617

In the foreground there are the strawberry plants and next to them the tomato plants.

IMG_1626

Up in the chairs we have first the lettuces, red and green types, then the spinach, and finally a pot with sweet onions (these long green things you see..) and more lettuces.

IMG_1599

The peas I have put them on the floor and with some wooden sticks so they can climb… I am going to try to make them climb enough to get to the railing of the terrace.. but so far they are not going very fast.

IMG_1596

Here the second section of the terrace, in the tree long pots, first the onions, then the lavender and at the end some more lettuces.

IMG_1559

A pot with parsley…

IMG_1594

… and a pot with basil.

IMG_1590

Next to the glass door to the living room we have the peach tree to see how keep appearing beautiful pink flowers and small bright green leafs.IMG_1554

IMG_1557

IMG_1558

Also from the living room we can now see the pot of barley I planted on a plastic water bottle (I am very sorry to say the basil on the other water bottle did not make it, I do not know why…) and the mint.

IMG_1550

Do you see what a bad look the poor mint has? It was attacked by aphids and started like, dying.. I had  to cut several of the twigs because were dead or so full of aphids I could not take them out… and now I am being as gentle as possible with it and crossing my fingers it gets better and goes back to being the lush green mint it was just a month ago!!

IMG_1547

IMG_1551

Hope you enjoyed my summary on the edible balcony. Do you have any plants at home? I would love to know about your experiences with gardening and growing!!

Jara

PS: Maybe you would like to read my last update on the balcony, or see my plant files….

 

Credits: Autor and photography Jara Forcadell

2 thoughts on “Mega update on the balcony

  1. Pingback: Trip to Sweden – Västerås and Stockholm | letsgetgreening

  2. Pingback: Ups and downs in the balcony | letsgetgreening

Leave a Reply

