Journal Day #6 – What keeps you going?

IMG_0843

Everyone has different things that keep them going. Sometimes it’s the people around us, other times it might be what’s waiting for us on the other side of hard work. Whatever it may be, there’s usually some sort of motivation to get up every day, get things done, or maybe even go the extra mile. With that said, what would you say is your biggest motivation in life? Has it always been this way? 

_________________________________________________________________________

Most days it is not like I like much help to get going because I am such a restless and enterprising person myself… that quite often what I really need is someone to get me stopping! But is is not like I don’t need help of course, actually I need my loved ones around all the time…

Sergi, my boyfriend, is the one that helps me to stop when I am trying to take on with too much, and who cheers me up on my bluest days, when I jump to the other end and I would just do nothing. Since we live together he is the one that lives with my daily worries, mood changes, my daydreamings and my most excited we-are-gonna-eat-the-world days and I tell you.. he knows me sooo well… he is amazing at doing that!
My parents, they do a great job too by downplaying my problems when I get too dramatic, at the moment that usually pisses me off, but I have to admit it usually works to keep my feet on the ground. And of course they also give me support when the problems are really worth to worry about! Paula, small sister and best friend, is the one to talk to about confidences, who takes me out for some shopping or spends all afternoon cooking cupcakes with me. We have always been friends, but now that she is getting older we are getting more similar and I feel like everyday we are more connected. Also, my brother Pol he is always able to make things look so much simpler and problem free. I can be a worrier sometimes, just mulling over something in my head as if it was very important, and he is always able to make it sound like it is not such a deal, and in case that fails he is always ready to make a joke! My both grandmothers, always my best fans, with their calls to see how am I doing and give me advice on gardening and growing in the balcony… one of them, Lluïsa, even reads my blog! (Hola iaia!!)  I have also Idoya who is my best friend, to make emergency coffees over problems or exciting news and make crazy plans on our most stressful days. And a bunch of other friends, to go out, have beers and dinners, discuss about life and have fun.

All these people… they are what gets me going, because whenever I feel bummed out I just thing how I have all them well and happy and close and I feel I just have no right to feel sad being so lucky.

_________________________________________________________________________

This is a response to Journal Day Prompt #6 from the Sometimes Sweet blog. You can also read Danielle’s response. Thanks Danielle for the prompt!!

Credits: Author and photography Jara Forcadell

Leave a Reply

