Cycling through the city

wpid-imag0040

There is something liberating about cycling. Maybe is the speed, the wind on your face (although it is yet quite cold around here so the wind is more hurtful than anything else ) or maybe it is the zigzagging through cars, pedestrians and varied urban obstacles.

Currently I have to take a train to work, and to go to and from the station I use the public bicycle service from my city. On the morning ride I a too sleepy and stressed like ” Damn it Jara, damn it… today is THE day, today you’re gonna lose the train… ” to fully enjoy it, and it’s rather on the evening on the way back that I realize how much cycling cheers my up. I make a two hours commute (don’t feel too bad, it is only a 3 months internship I am doing), it’s about 1 hour 20 minutes on the train plus 20 minutes on each end to reach my destination, and so you can imagine how tired I am when I take the bike to return home. But as I cross the city my spirits go up and I get home with rosy cold cheeks and a smile.

What about you? Do you ever cycle around the city? Would you like to? How do you commute to work?

Hope you are all having a nice week. Here, spring weather made an spectacular appearance for a few days but then winter came back…

Jara

Credits: Author and photography Jara Forcadell

Leave a Reply

