Planting strawberries

Last Sunday my mum told me she had seen they had started selling strawberry plants on the garden centre and I have been all week impatient to go. So today I was trilled to get home with five baby plants and the pertinent pots.

According to my research, which I’ll be sharing soon in the form of a plant file, strawberry plants have shallow roots and can live in fairly small pots. After looking all the available containers in the garden centre, just to drive my boyfriend Sergi crazy – “cannot you just choose already” –  I settled for three small round pots and a small window box.

IMG_1441

If you are wondering about the canes… they are for the peas, that apparently need some support where they can climb, but that I’ll explain in another post.

I think I am growing into this you know? Today filling the pots and settling the baby plants was quick and easy, whereas the firsts times I was so slow and doubtful. I know this can sound  silly but to me is a great achievement! 
IMG_1469

IMG_1485

I have been careful on the height of the compost because, they say it’s very important that the pointy red “crown” is right at the limit of the compost, not too high not too low.IMG_1491

In the end I have put three plants on the window box and two on separate small pots so I have a spare small pot. It will be useful when the plants grow to try and make a new plant from one of the run-outs of one plant.

IMG_1506

And here I am happy with all my veggies!
IMG_1515

Hope you’ve had a nice Saturday too!

Jara

5 thoughts on “Planting strawberries

  1. Pingback: Mega update on the balcony | letsgetgreening

  2. Pingback: The fruity balcony | letsgetgreening

  3. Pingback: Multiplying strawberry plants | letsgetgreening

Leave a Reply

